If you’re facing a theft charge in Ohio, understanding the evidence the prosecution will use to determine your specific charge is important. Additionally, you’ll face different consequences depending on whether or not you’re being charged with felony versus petty theft.
The difference between petty and felony theft in Ohio may not seem like much on paper, but their consequences can substantially differ. Individuals with high-degree felony theft charges are more likely to pay harsh fines, submit to probation, or spend more time in jail.
When an individual takes the services or property of another without authorization or intends to deprive an owner of goods compensation, it’s called theft. Theft can occur in various ways, such as taking property without the owner’s consent, utilizing property without the owner’s permission, or deceiving, intimidating, or threatening the owner.
Ohio laws classify theft depending on the value of the stolen items or services. This can be an excellent way to determine whether the offense will be treated as a felony or misdemeanor.
Penalties for Petty Theft
Petty theft refers to a first-degree misdemeanor. It is where the stolen property’s value is less than $1,000. If convicted, you may have to serve a jail term of up to 180 days or a fine of up to $1,000.
Penalties for Felony Theft
Theft may be a felony if the stolen property’s value exceeds $1,000. Depending on the stolen property’s value, there are five levels of felony offense classification. The fifth-degree felony theft is not very serious, and it happens when:
- The stolen item or service’s value is between $1,000 and $7,500
- The stolen item is a negotiable instrument, such as a credit card
- The stolen item is a vehicle title form, vehicle license plate, or a temporary placard.
Fifth-degree felony theft offenders may serve up to 12 months in jail and pay a maximum fine of $2,500.
What is Grand Theft?
If the value of the stolen goods or services is between $7,500 and $150,000, it’s considered grand theft. You can also be charged with grand theft if you’re accused of illegally obtaining a dangerous drug or a motor vehicle. A fourth-degree felony is punishable by a jail term of up to 18 months and a maximum fine of $5,000.
What is Aggravated Theft?
Aggravated theft in Ohio includes 1st, 2nd, or 3rd-level felony theft offenses. Aggravated theft occurs when someone illegally obtains anhydrous ammonia or firearms, or the value of the stolen item or service is $150,000-$750,000. If convicted, you could face up to eleven years in prison or pay a maximum fine of $20,000.
Contact a Cincinnati Theft Defense Lawyer Today
Theft charges in Ohio are serious. For this reason, you shouldn’t risk facing trial without a Cincinnati defense lawyer. Whether you have been charged with a felony or misdemeanor, you will need the help of a skilled theft defense lawyer.
At Herzner Law, we will help you build a robust defense strategy to minimize the consequences of the conviction or prove your innocence. Contact us today to request a free case review.