In Ohio, the consequences for traffic violations include the point system recorded by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). The Ohio Point system seeks to discourage drivers from committing repeated traffic offenses over a short time. For example, accumulating 12 points within two years results in a six-month license revocation.
Traffic violation charges in Ohio have severe consequences for drivers. If you face a traffic offense in Cincinnati, Ohio, you risk losing your driver’s license or facing severe penalties. Fortunately, a Cincinnati traffic defense lawyer can build a solid defense and work to lessen your points and charges.
Points for Different Violations in Ohio
The state of Ohio uses specific criteria to assess penalty points. Being found guilty of minor traffic violations or crimes puts two points on your driving record. Violations include the following:
- Running a traffic light
- Following too closely
- Failure to yield the right of way
- Running a stop sign
- Driving below the speed limit
- Driving while not carrying your driver’s license
- Driving the wrong side on a one-way street
- Failing to signal a turn or lane change
- Speeding by 25 mph below the speed limit
- Failure to yield a pedestrian or blind person
Traffic violations considered more severe or dangerous warrant the assessment of four points against a driver’s driving record. Violations include the following:
- Reckless driving
- Speeding by 25 mph over the speed limit
- Driving in a willful manner that shows disregard for the safety of other people or property
- Speeding in a commercial vehicle
The charges and point penalties for 6-point traffic violations in Ohio include the following:
- Driving under a suspended license
- Street racing
- Drunk driving
- Fleeing an accident scene
- Operating a vehicle without the vehicle owner’s consent
If you rack up to six points on your driver’s license record in two years, the Ohio BMV must provide a warning letter highlighting all the violations and the subsequent number of points for each violation.
How Long do Points Stay on my License After I Receive a Traffic Violation Conviction?
Once you plead guilty to your traffic violation charges and pay your fine, points will stay on your driving record for two years after the conviction. The 2-year period counts from the day of the first conviction.
Suppose you accumulate 12 points against your driving license. In that case, your driver’s license is revoked for six months, after which you must undertake a remedial driving course, provide proof of insurance, and pass your driver’s license test to have your license restored.
Contact a Cincinnati Traffic Defense Lawyer
If you are facing a traffic offense in Cincinnati, Ohio, and need assistance, a Cincinnati traffic defense lawyer from Herzner Law can help. Our lead attorney, Shane Herzner, is familiar with Ohio traffic law and will gladly provide quality legal advice and representation in court. Contact us online to request a consultation and get the assistance you deserve.