Cincinnati Vehicle Impoundment
Ohio DUI Attorney with 15+ Years of Experience
There are numerous penalties associated with a DUI charge that most people are familiar with – incarceration, suspended license, and fines – but there are also some that you may not be aware of. Police officers in Ohio have the ability to impound your car after getting charged with a DUI offense and often exercise this right, making it extremely difficult to keep up with daily responsibilities.
Our firm understands the need to fight even the smallest of DUI charges to reduce your risk of having your vehicle impounded, or worse. We have been representing Ohio citizens facing criminal charges for over 15 years, and our Cincinnati DUI attorney was named a Rising Star℠ by Super Lawyers® Magazine. With us on your side, you receive peace of mind.
Your Risk of an Impounded Vehicle
While every Ohio citizen who is charged with DUI may be in jeopardy of having their vehicle impounded, some individuals are more at risk than others. The court will look at your record and any previous convictions to determine the most effective penalties for your case.
The state generally abides by the following rules:
- First offense: Without any prior DUI convictions, Ohio does not generally impound vehicles
- Second offense: If you have a prior conviction within the last six years, your car may be impounded for 90 days, including its license plates
- Third offense: If you have two or more convictions within the last six years, your vehicle may be forfeited entirely and becomes the property of the government
Ohio may make an exception for those facing a second DUI conviction. If a member of your household relies on the vehicle for daily activities, the court may forego the impoundment.
Whether it's your first offense or your third, Herzner Law, LLC may be able to help. Give our Cincinnati DUI attorney a call today at (513) 280-8405 to schedule your free phone consultation!